We use essential cookies for the website to function, as well as analytics cookies for analyzing and creating statistics of the website performance. To agree to the use of analytics cookies, click "Accept All". You can manage your preferences at any time by clicking "Cookie Settings" on the footer. More Information.

Only Essential Cookies
Accept All
GuidesEnvironment SetupDownloading and Installing DevEco Studio

Downloading and Installing DevEco Studio

Downloading Software

Go to Download Center, log in with your HUAWEI ID, download DevEco Studio, and verify the tool's integrity by following the instructions in Tool Integrity.

Follow the steps below to install DevEco Studio, depending on the operating system you are using.

Windows

System Requirements

To prepare for installation, make sure your computer meets the following requirements:

  • Operating system: Windows 10 (64-bit) or Windows 11 (64-bit)
  • Memory: 16 GB or above
  • Disk: 100 GB or above
  • Resolution: 1280 × 800 pixels or higher

Installation Procedure

  1. After you've downloaded the installation package, double-click deveco-studio-xxxx.exe in the package. In the dialog box shown below, choose a destination for the installation, either by keeping the default path (C:\Program Files) or by clicking Browse… to select a different path. Then click Next.

  2. Select DevEco Studio under Create Desktop Shortcut and click Next until the installation is complete.

  3. Click Finish. When the installation is finished, check and set up the development environment as instructed in Setting Up the Proxy.

    NOTE
    • DevEco Studio offers an out-of-the-box development experience, integrating the HarmonyOS SDK, Node.js, Hvigor, ohpm, and Emulator into a single package, simplifying the installation and configuration process of DevEco Studio.
    • Since the HarmonyOS SDK is embedded in DevEco Studio, there is no need for separate downloads or configurations. You can find the HarmonyOS SDK in the DevEco Studio\sdk directory under the DevEco Studio installation path. For OpenHarmony app development, download the OpenHarmony SDK under File > Settings > OpenHarmony SDK.
    • If the Import DevEco Studio Settings dialog box is displayed when you run DevEco Studio for the first time, select Do not import settings and click OK.

macOS

System Requirements

To prepare for installation, make sure your computer meets the following requirements:

  • Operating system: macOS (x86) 11/12/13/14/15 or macOS (Arm) 12/13/14/15
  • Memory: 8 GB or above
  • Disk: 100 GB or above
  • Resolution: 1280 × 800 pixels or higher

Installation Procedure

  1. On the installation page, drag DevEco-Studio.app to the Applications folder and wait until the installation is complete.

  2. When the installation is finished, check and set up the development environment as instructed in Setting Up the Proxy.

    NOTE
    • DevEco Studio offers an out-of-the-box development experience, integrating the HarmonyOS SDK, Node.js, hvigor, ohpm, and Emulator into a single package, simplifying the installation and configuration process of DevEco Studio.
    • Since the HarmonyOS SDK is embedded in DevEco Studio, there is no need for separate downloads or configurations. You can find the HarmonyOS SDK in the DevEco Studio\sdk directory under the DevEco Studio installation path. For OpenHarmony app development, download the OpenHarmony SDK under DevEco Studio > Preferences/Settings > OpenHarmony SDK.

Diagnosing the Development Environment

DevEco Studio comes with a diagnostic capability to check whether your development environment is fully set up. To initiate this process, simply click Diagnose on the welcome page, or choose Help > Diagnostic Tools > Diagnose Development Environment from the menu bar on the project page.

The diagnosis items include the computer configuration, network connectivity, and installation of dependent tools. Fix the failed items, if any, based on the provided suggestions.

Enabling the Chinese Localization Plugin

Currently, this feature is available only in the Chinese mainland.

  • Since DevEco Studio 6.0.0 Beta1, the Chinese localization plugin is enabled by default. To switch the UI language to Chinese, go to File > Settings... (DevEco Studio > Preferences/Settings on macOS) > Appearance & Behavior > System Settings > Language, select Chinese, and click Apply. In the displayed dialog box, click Restart to complete the language switch. If the Chinese language option is not available during selection, enable the Chinese localization plugin by following the steps for earlier versions, and then select it.
    NOTE

    In DevEco Studio 6.1.0 Beta1 and later versions, Chinese has been changed to Chinese(Simplified) (simplified Chinese).

  • For versions earlier than DevEco Studio 6.0.0 Beta1, go to File > Settings (DevEco Studio > Preferences/Settings on macOS) > Plugins via the menu bar, select the Installed tab, and enter Chinese in the search box. The result Chinese(Simplified) will appear. Click Enable on the right, then click OK. In the displayed dialog box, click Restart. The plugin will take effect after DevEco Studio restarts.